Residents reminded to make sure they’re registered to vote

(Photo: Electoral Commission)


Residents not yet registered to vote at their current address are being reminded to do so by Reigate & Banstead Borough Council, with local elections taking place on Thursday 2 May 2019.

This year every seat on Reigate & Banstead Borough Council will be up for election following last year’s ward boundary review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

Borough councillors are responsible for making decisions on running local services including housing, planning, parks, leisure and public safety, waste management and how the council’s budget is spent.

There will be 45 seats up for election to represent 15 three-councillor wards. This means residents will be voting for three candidates instead of just one.

Elections are also due to be held for Horley Town Council and Salfords & Sidlow Parish Council.

To vote in the elections, residents must be on the electoral register. Reigate & Banstead Borough Council is urging anyone who has not yet registered at their current address to make sure they do so in plenty of time.

The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Friday 12 April. Anyone can apply online at

John Jory, Electoral Registration Officer for Reigate & Banstead Borough Council, said:

“Time is running out to make sure you can take part in the local elections.

They are an opportunity to make your voice heard and have a say on who represents you on issues that directly affect day-to-day life here in Reigate & Banstead.

If you’re not registered by 12 April, you won’t be able to vote.”

The Council is also reminding residents to look out for the letter telling them who is registered to vote in their household:

“If you were registered to vote in the last election and all the details in your letter are correct, you don’t need to respond. To make changes visit If in doubt, you can check if you are registered by giving us a call on 01737 276794.

The letter also says which polling station householders must go to to vote in May – it may be different than before due to the ward boundary changes.”